Cooking Like a Pro: Blanching Veggies

BlanchingVeggies

“What on earth is blanching?”, you may be asking yourself. Well, blanching is the best thing ever. Let me explain. When I was little, I hated eating vegetables with a passion. I would rather eat dirt than broccoli. There was simply no logical way to get me to eat a single vegetable. I think the reason why I despised vegetables so much was that they looked absolutely disgusting. Sorry, mom!

Blanching is a cooking technique that will help you bring out vegetables’ natural beauty. You can then use them in salads, pastas, sides, soups etc. You can also freeze them. The possibilities are simply endless when you have handsome vegetables. Let’s get blanching, shall we?

You will need a big pot of boiling water, a slotted spoon and a big bowl of ice-cold water. Add your lovely vegetables to the pot of boiling water. Let them have a good time in there until they turn bright in colour. Once that happens, try one. It should be firm to the bite – not mushy or too crunchy. Take them out of the boiling water with the slotted spoon and place them right away in the icy water. Leave them in there for a few minutes. Fish them out and place them on paper towels to dry a little. From there, the food world is yours to conquer, my friend. Put them in ziplock bags if you’re planning on freezing them.

Easy, right? You can blanch pretty much any vegetable. It does work best on green veggies, though. However, don’t be scared to blanch carrots, corn kernels, pearl onions, etc. You can also blanch herbs. Fresh mint for mojitos, anyone?

When I was first introduced to this technique, I fell in love with it. Not only that, but I fell in love with vegetables all over again. I’m sure you will too.

One comment

Leave a Reply

